TPP – Part 2

Should we be worried?I introduced the TPP in my last post. It’s been receiving a lot of coverage online, but very little via mainstream news sources, nevertheless it’s something we all need to be aware of. I recently came across this post giving 5 reasons to protest the TPP and it makes a lot of alarming but apparently valid points. The bottom line is what most grabbed my attention, ‘Corporate Power over Governments and Citizens.’ I can’t quite wrap my head around the idea that a corporation will be granted more power than a government. So I started looking for examples on how this is likely to play out in the future. There is a worry that enshrouded within the secrecy of the TPP lie powers which will grant corporations the ability to sue governments for impeding their business. This example from a few years ago shows what could follow if the TPP is pushed through. As I mentioned in the last blog, Australia seems to following America’s lead very closely when it comes to the TPP, doesn’t this seem a bit silly when we’ve already had a taste of what corporations are likely to do once they gain these powers?

For anybody seeking further information regarding the TPP, I found this video an intriguing angle to consider.

Leave a Reply

